Henslow Fellowships

Three year funding across a wide range of fields – with over thirty Henslow Fellows receiving funding from 2010 to date.

The Society regularly sponsors three-year Research Fellowships, “Henslow Fellowships”, in the fields of Natural Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Computer Science and Clinical Sciences. The Henslow Fellowships are awarded to selected colleges to augment research fellowship provision within Colleges, rather than to substitute for existing schemes.

The aims of the Philosophical Society are “to promote research in all branches of science and to encourage the communication of the results of scientific research.”  The advertisement and selection of each of the Henslow Fellowships is made by the College, in full consultation with the Cambridge Philosophical Society.

Henslow Fellow Profiles

Dr Alec Christie

Henslow Fellow 2021-2024

Dr Georg Maierhofer

Henslow Fellow 2023-

Juan Benito Moreno

Henslow Fellow 2023-

Timothy Chisholm

Henslow Fellow 2023-

Dr Francesco Fournier-Facio

Henslow Fellow 2023-

Dr David Willer

Henslow Fellow 2021-

Dr Carrie Soderman

Henslow Fellow 2023-

Dr Rajesh Bhagat

Henslow Fellow 2020-

Dr Harriet Groom

Henslow Fellow 2014-2017

Dr Sarah Morgan

Henslow Fellow 2017-2020

Dr Emily Mitchell

Henslow Fellow 2016-2019


Discover our Journals & Books

From Darwin’s paper on evolution to the development of stem cell research, publications from the Society continue to shape the scientific landscape.


Join the Cambridge Philosophical Society

Become a Fellow of the Society and enjoy the benefits that membership brings. Membership costs £20 per year.

Join today

Upcoming Events

Show All



Professor Lisa Hall

Professor Lisa Hall, CBE

  • 18:00 - 19:00 Bristol-Myers Squibb Lecture Theatre Michaelmas Term

View Details



Professor Holger Babinsky

  • 18:00 - 19:00 Bristol-Myers Squibb Lecture Theatre Michaelmas Term

Larmor Lecture

View Details