200th Anniversary Two Day Meeting

"THE FUTURES OF SCIENCES" in Lecture Theatre 0, Department of Engineering, Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PZ

Thursday 21 March and Friday 22 March 2019

A two-day scientific meeting to celebrate the 200th Anniversary of the Cambridge Philosophical Society covering the future of all sciences. OPEN TO ALL who are interested, entry is free and no booking is required.

Organiser: Professor Simon Conway Morris


Professor Chris Bishop FRS FRSE FREng, Laboratory Director, Microsoft Research, Cambridge

Dr Richard Henderson FRS, FMedSci, HonFRSC, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

Professor Rich Lenski, Michigan State University 

Professor Sir Richard Peto FRS, Nuffield Department of Population Health, Oxford

Professor Lord Martin Rees FRS, Department of Astronomy, Cambridge

Professor Vilayanur S Ramachandran, Centre for Brain and Cognition, University of California, San Diego

Professor Sir Venki Ramakrishnan PRS, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

Seth Shostak, Seti Institute, California      

Professor George M Whitesides, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University


A buffet lunch will be available at a cost of £5 in advance or £7.00 on the day. Numbers for the luncheon are limited and an advance purchase is recommended to guarantee a place. Please contact the Executive Secretary for a voucher.

The first 70 Fellows of the Society to apply will be offered a complimentary luncheon voucher.